« Back to News


STAR Awards finalists announced

Following almost 700 nominations from staff and the public, the 2018 NHS Tayside Staff Appreciation and Recognition (STAR) Awards finalists have been announced.



The awards offered staff and the public a chance to nominate an individual, service or team in one of six categories for delivering outstanding patient care or going the extra mile in their job. A shortlisting panel then had the difficult task of choosing the finalists in each category from almost 700 nominations.


NHS Tayside Chairman Professor John Connell said, “We were overwhelmed by the number of nominations received and I would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate, as well as the shortlisting and judging panels, who had the very unenviable task of narrowing down the nominations.


 “Well done to everyone who was nominated and congratulations to those who were shortlisted as finalists. I am very much looking forward to the awards ceremony to see the gold, silver and bronze awards presented to the winners.”


The finalists are:



Outstanding Individual (Clinical)



June Ward, Haemophilia/Anticoagulant Specialist Nurse, Ninewells



Matt Quinn, Senior Staff Nurse, Intensive Care Unit, Ninewells



Mhairi Hepburn, Consultant Psychiatrist, Psychiatry of Old Age, Murray Royal Hospital



Pam Lamond, Senior Charge Nurse, MoveAhead, PRI



Rachel Hunt, Senior Charge Nurse, Ward 3, PRI



Tara Winterton, Speech & Language Therapist, PRI



Outstanding Individual (Non Clinical)



Anne Johnston, Catering Assistant, Arbroath Infirmary



Blanche Sykes, Ward Assistant, Ward 42, Ninewells Hospital



Diane Donaldson, Clinical Radiology Group Administrator, Ninewells Hospital



Lynn Norrie, Ward Clerk, Young People’s Unit, Dudhope Terrace



Margaret McMillan, Ward Assistant, Ward 6, Ninewells Hospital



Shannen Stewart, Administrative Assistant, Perth Royal Infirmary



Outstanding Team



Central A District Nursing Team, Dundee



Clinical Investigations Unit, Ninewells



Hospital at Night Team



Ward 6, PRI



Ward 8, PRI 



Ward 38, Ninewells



Inspiring Educator



Mr Afshin Alijani, Consultant Surgeon and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Ninewells



Dr David Connell, Consultant in Respiratory Medicine, Ninewells



Dr Donald MacGregor, Consultant Paediatric Surgeon, Ninewells and PRI



Kirstie Gordon, Speech and Language Therapist, Links Health Centre, Montrose



Mary Malone, Paediatric Respiratory Nurse Specialist, Ninewells



Dr Sharon Robertson, Learning, Development and Governance Manager, Wallacetown Health Centre



Sharon Slane, Organisational Development Lead, Ninewells



Innovation in Practice



Laorag Hunter, Specialist Speech and Language Therapist, Royal Victoria Hospital



Letham Steering Group



Lung Cancer Clinical Nurse Specialist Team



Tayside Colposcopy Team            



The Viral Hepatitis Service



Quality/Service Improvement



Ann Eriksen, Executive Lead & Commissioner – Sexual Health & Blood Borne Virus



Dundee Community Leg Ulcer Team



Dundee Community Rehabilitation Occupational Therapy Team



ERCP Team in Endoscopy



Perth City District Nursing Team



Val Johnson and Fiona Smith, Crisis Resolution Home Treatment Team, Carseview Centre



The award ceremony is being held in the Apex Hotel on the evening of Thursday, 19 April                        



The STAR Awards is being delivered in partnership with Tayside Health Fund and the Academic Health Science Partnership (AHSP) in Tayside.